Help With Volume Adjustment Digital Potentiometer

I am a beginner with wiring microchips and have never used a digital potentiometer.

What my project requires is taking audio through a 3.5mm plug and then adjusting the volume and outputting it through another 3.5mm plug (ranging from silence to original volume).

Coding the arduino itself will not be an issue, but I have no clue what to do for wiring.

What is a good digital potentiometer to purchase?

Also, would a friendly member here guide through what resistors or capacitors I need for wiring? I am extremely confused why resistors or capictors are even necessary for wiring the digital potentiometer to the arduino, but I've seen photos of similar projects with people using them.

Thanks!

Have a look at the PGA2311 digital volume control chip. It's always my choice for audio volume control, and easy to drive with an Arduino.

Ian.

ian332isport:
Have a look at the PGA2311 digital volume control chip. It's always my choice for audio volume control, and easy to drive with an Arduino.

Ian.

Thanks for the reply, Ian.

I honestly haven't really done much circuit work, but I have programming experience. What resources should I read up on for wiring up a PGA2311? I see a few projects with people using them, but it is unclear how they are being wired. Is there a diagram I should reference? Also, what is the purpose of the resistors and capacitors in a simple volume changing circuit? Isn't original current/voltage just being modified in my case, so they are unnecessary?

Thanks!

RedyTedy:
Thanks for the reply, Ian.