Help With While Statement

I am trying to figure out why this code is not working as expected. It's pretty basic, I know. I am just starting out and trying to learn my way around.

When this is run (in the setup statement), the code stops at the first While statement and waits for user input as expected. However, when I enter a number and hit Enter or Send, it asks the second question, but does not wait for input at the second While statement. It jumps right into the loop code.

For the life of me I don't see what I may have done wrong or why it is not doing what I think it should. Anyone have any input?

Serial.println("Enter the number of times the Red LED should blink: ");

while ( Serial.available() == 0 ) { }

rBlinkCount = Serial.parseInt();

Serial.println("Enter the number of times the Yellow LED should blink: ");

while ( Serial.available() == 0 ) { }

yBlinkCount = Serial.parseInt();

Look at the bottom of the serial terminal, to the left of the baud rate, and see what you have the line ending set to. If you have it set to anything except "No line ending", there will be an additional character sent after the number you enter (either a newline or carriage return, or both). Serial.parseInt() leaves this character in the serial buffer, so the code immediately goes to the second Serial.parseInt() statement, which times out after a second because it finds no more numbers in the input.

david_2018:
Look at the bottom of the serial terminal, to the left of the baud rate, and see what you have the line ending set to. If you have it set to anything except "No line ending", there will be an additional character sent after the number you enter (either a newline or carriage return, or both). Serial.parseInt() leaves this character in the serial buffer, so the code immediately goes to the second Serial.parseInt() statement, which times out after a second because it finds no more numbers in the input.

THANK YOU! I would have never figured that out.