Helping schools get kids started...

For many years, I've wanted to see Arduinos in schools, for the benefit of complete novices.

Arduinos are expensive. Proto-boards and wires and discrete components are not novice-friendly.

I think I've come up with a way to "package" the Arduino and various input and output modules into a "system" where users just plug modules into the Arduino. A system that should survive any of the mistakes a user could make... like programming a pin as an output, telling it to go high, and then putting a wire between the pin and the system's ground.

It is simple (not expensive, not hard to understand)

But will it "work"? Will it REALLY protect the Arduino from the things novices may accidentally do?

Details at...

http://rugguino.com/Modules.htm

Your thoughts welcomed!

Your idea looks similar to the “littlebits” system. Not that I mean that to be an insult but rather that someone beat you to the punch. :confused:

Sounds similar to JeeLabs boards also http://jeelabs.org/2010/12/18/rethinking-the-arduino-hardware-interface/ http://www.digitalsmarties.net/products/jeenode

Thank you Chagrin and Crossroads....

Littlebits... Yes! There is a connection. (They had a credit in the page of which my post speaks before I read Chagrin's post!)

JeeLabs boards... yes, I see what you mean... but wonder if the JeeLabs boards are really the place to put novices? And whether they are the least expensive option for schools, where "class sets" are needed, and budgets tight.

I wouldn't claim that my ideas are particularly original or wonderful... what I was hoping for feedback on was whether they were SOUND?? Does my scheme protect the Arduino, do you think? What could a user do... if they didn't "mess with" the pinMode statements... that would result in permanent damage to the Arduino or a component?