Here is my idea, Noob here.

Hi, i was looking for a little project for some time now, when i stumbled upon the arduino board. I intend to learn alot by reading and by asking question. I don’t have any knowledge about programming, and lil about electronics.

For the programming part I intend to use parts of the codes in the playground sections.

Here is my idea.
I found a couple of interesting parts on sparkfun and I would like to know if what I intend to do is possible ( at least for me )

I would like to have a display with useful informations about my house.

Indoor/Outdoor temperature / moisture http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8257
The temperature of the main computer (HTPC)
Time and Date

Also I dont know if it’s possible.
I would like to use it as a Sideshow. Where I could display the progress of the active torrents on the HTPC. HDD space left. And the Network status. ( how many computer connected, which one.)

All of this displayed on a LCD.http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=569

Any idea of what I need, how hard it is, stuff like that?

Thx alot

Maldrien

Most of these things are easy, one at a time.

I don’t know about the status of torrents and the network stuff you write about, you obviosly need some software on the PC that somehow can send this information to the serial port to Arduino.

You probably need to program e custom application for the PC to gather the temp. / torrent / network info. This can be quite a task if you have never done any programming before. So i think starting with the display and temperature sensors is probably best.

I would highly recomend that you, do it step by step. First get the display working, then add a single temp. sensor work with it til everything is ok, then add the rest one bit at a time. This way you can make sure every thing is workin before you ad more. This makes troubleshooting much easier.