Hermes engraver control

Hi all,
Very new to Arduino but!
Have working v3000 engraver (all steppers, movement etc) but, as was usual, the external Hermes controller ISA board is dead. Have built break out board that takes 5v supply and LM324n, 555, together with SN74LS245N, controlled by 6 toggle switches. This outputs via 20 way header to original engraver connector block and happily I can move all the X,Y & Z axis by combinations of the switches with the motors running.. I'd like to use Arduino to take the place of the switches so that via Mach3 and GRBL I can use the engraver from dxf files. So I don't need Arduino to power the steppers - although I have learnt how to control a small stepper in sketch and it worked, well. Is it possible to use Arduino as some sort of replacement for my toggles maybe serial, data on/off switch or am I being dumb?
Thanks for any help for a total novice.

Links? Pictures?

Sorry guys, didn’t include images or links as New Hernes inc inly shows up as defunt product. The web adress I found is E-engraving.com Is For Sale.

I’ve attached some images of the back of the engraver control - The small ribbon cable at the top is used to bypass the ISA card inside the controlled and connect my breakout box to the engraver table. The large ‘pinned’ plug connects from the engraver table to the EP controll module ribbon that joins to my box. The table is seperately mains powered so I took a 5v tap from the existing power supply in the EP module to power my board. I can get all the directional movments from my board. The top single switch is a board ‘kill’ switch and the small cable with plunger is acting as a dead man’s handle for ‘jogging’. Sorry for image quality, but I’m stuck in my wheelchair and some parts of body ain’t as good as they used to be!
Hope the images explain how I make it work and equally how I might use the Arduino to inteface to my board.

hermescontroller_inside.jpg