Hey ... I need help for new project

Actually I am trying to build an vehicle tracking system based on satellite communication rather than GSM/GPRS. I am using GTC(Axonn) STX2 development system and Arduino UNO R3. I am new to arduino. Previously I have experience in PIC!8 series micro controller. If anyone have any suggestion for deployment of the development system with the Arduino, then please help me.
Link of development system - http://www.globaltelesat.co.uk/support/STX2-Development-System-User-Manual.pdf

Much appreciated!

Thanks
Nikhil Garg

It might help if you described what sort of help you're looking for, or maybe even... asked a question!

It looks like you talk to it over serial or softwareserial. That manual describes the physical connections of the dev board, and use of their software.
You will need to consult the datasheet for the part (not the manual for the board it is mounted on) to get the information on the protocol you'll need to use to talk to the STX2.

There are abundant posts, threads, guides and general information on these forums and elsewhere on the internet on using serial.

Be sure to set the jumpers for TTL serial mode - that board can do RS232 voltage levels according to the manual, which will trash your arduino.

thanks DrAzzy,
Actually as I told I am completely new to both of them. Stx2 and as well as the Arduino. To start up my work, I wanted to have a brief idea on how to proceed and how to interface this board with Arduino. As the provided data sheet states that the development system will only work if connected to the PC and that specified software. I am getting confused???? :slightly_frowning_face: :slightly_frowning_face:

http://common.globalstar.com/doc/axonn/stx2-datsasheet.pdf

this is the link to datasheet of STX2