Hey, need some help on where to start programming! (Balancing Bot)

Hey there arduino peoples.

So ive been here for a bit, i joined a while ago and had the plans of building a hexapod - i decided to do a crawler later, I'd rather do a moderately priced balancing bot first.

What im using:

Pololu 29:1 Gear Motors with Encoders Pololu VNH019 Motor Driver Arduino Uno (Havnt Chosen Yet): Gyroscope and Accelerometer

So im ordering these parts in a few days. I already have an arduino uno which ive been using for the past year. I finished the arduino cookbook early this year and so i have some knowledge of programming.

My question is, where do I start programming for this bot? My intention now is to get the motors running first, then to add in my gyro and accelerometer to get it balancing. And once it balances, to add more sensors and whatever.

So any help on helping me get my programming started would be appreciated! Thanks

Sounds like you have a plan. I'm not sure what you need advice on?

What I needed help on was on my code - i really dont know how to start off my code since ive never worked with dc motor control and motor drivers

edit:

to be honest i feel really lost on how I should start my code. Might sound dumb, but im not sure on what to do. If someone could help me out by maybe helping write the start of the code, or telling me how I should start, it would help. What im really not sure is how im supposed to change my code when using the Pololu motor driver, or would it be the same as just using the motors with the arduino itself? I checked the sample code for the driver, and i can understand part of it, but it isnt making much sense to me on where I should begin to get my motors moving forward and backwards. maybe im over thinking it.

jdmkid: to be honest i feel really lost on how I should start my code