Hi/Low input from 1.3V and 1.7V

Hi,

I am kind of new to electronics, but am trying out some home made up projects. This is my first arduino project.

I want to count the pulses from an old rotary phone. The pulse go between 1.3V and 1.7V. So I want my Arduino UNO R3 to read the 1.3V as low and the 1.7V as high.

Any suggestions on how to acheive this? Obviously (?) I want to use the “read input pin hi/low” command if possible. I was thinking maybe a zener diode could be used to filter away the lower voltage part but then I don’t know how to raise the remainder to above 3V or whatever is needed to create high signal. If that would even work, I have never actually used a zener diode but remember them from school. Anyway I am sure there are other ways.

Thanks in advance.

Use the on board analog comparator, with the threshold set at 1.5V. Short tutorial here.

Alternatively, use analogRead() to simply measure the input voltage (about 10,000 times per second in a tight loop).

Or use a comparator with some hysteresis to have a low output for <1.5V and high for >1.5V.
Look at the LM358 that triggers at 3.3V on the Uno power select circuit as an example.

jremington:
Use the on board analog comparator, with the threshold set at 1.5V. Short tutorial here.

Alternatively, use analogRead() to simply measure the input voltage (about 10,000 times per second in a tight loop).

Thanks, was not aware of the on board comparator! I’ll try that.

CrossRoads:
Or use a comparator with some hysteresis to have a low output for <1.5V and high for >1.5V.
Look at the LM358 that triggers at 3.3V on the Uno power select circuit as an example.

Can you please elaborate a bit on the solution with the LM358? That sentence is not clear to me…
I don’t know if you saw the picture I originally attached from my oscilloscope., but I think the signal already has a kind of hysteresis since it is not a pure sine wave - would you agree?