Hi please read, i need help and i am stressed out now!

Hey guys i am Nuka (not my actual name.) i really need some help, i dont know where i should be posting this as i am new to Arduino. I have somewhere between very little to very basic skills with this, i am trying to make a joystick and 8x8 dot matrix and the matrix is max7219 board, i have hooked everything up properly, but my code really sucks and i also looked around and tried researching as much as i could before posting here, this is my code:

#include <LedControl.h>

LedControl lc = LedControl(8, 10, 9, 1);

// Arduino pin #'s

const int SW_pin = 2;
const int X_pin = A0; // ud
const int Y_pin = A1; // lr
int delayTime1 = 500;
int delayTime2 = 150;

void setup() {

lc.shutdown(0, false);
  lc.setIntensity(0, 8);
  lc.clearDisplay(0);

pinMode(SW_pin, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(SW_pin, HIGH);
  Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {
  analogRead(A0);
  analogRead(A1);

char X_translate = map(Y_pin, 1021, 0, 0, 4);
  char Y_translate = map(X_pin, 1021, 0, 0, 4);

Serial.print("Switch: ");
  Serial.print(digitalRead(SW_pin));
  Serial.print("\n");
  Serial.print("X-axis: ");
  Serial.print(analogRead(X_pin));
  Serial.print("\n");
  Serial.print("Y-axis: ");
  Serial.print(analogRead(Y_pin));
  Serial.print("\n\n");
  delay(delayTime1);

lc.clearDisplay(0);
  lc.setLed(0, X_translate, Y_translate, true);
  delay(delayTime2);

}

As for now i am giving up on it, my knowledge of arduino code is small and the website really isnt helping me and i dont just want to be a script kiddy copying and pasting other peoples code i acutally want to learn to write it all myself but i am frusterated becuse i have no clue how to learn but i am trying. i have looked up the refreces on the website but even that is hard for me to understand. i am very sorry for bad spelling aswell!

int UD = 0;
int LR = 0; //Setting up controller//
#include "LedControl.h" // need the library