High Amperage Circut

Hello everyone.

I have had my Arduino Duemilanove for a bit over a year. I got a robo kit, put it togther, ran it for a few days, then tore it apart. I have been through most of the tutorials and have been absolutely ITCHING to build something that has a real use.

I am a software developer (albeit a little green), and I do not have any problems writing the programs that I am interested in. I have a strong grounding in digital logic. Analog circuts are a far different beast. It is a very different way of thinking and the math can get pretty complex (to someone who is new) for a seemingly simple circut.

So for my practical application. I have been getting back into model rocketry with my friends and their kids. My Estes ignition system finally bit the dust. I could probably repair it if I took the time to do it, but what fun would that be? I want to build a replacement that would be based on the arduino and I am having a little bit of a problem trying to figure out the circut.

I was figuring on using a relay that is turned on by a transister. I saw a diagram on this website (will post link below) - that shows how to hook up a transistor to the arduino to switch the relay on/off. It seems like a pretty straightforward thing. A 5v output going to a 2n222 NPN Transistor. That will switch the relay “on” and the relay will do what it does. I want to try to mimic the estes ignition system as close as possible.

With 4 AA rechargeable NiMH batteries in series, the launcher outputs 20mA to the igniter when the button is not pressed. It uses a lightbulb to restrict the current, and light up for a continuity check (this is not enough to light the igniter). When you press the button down, it bypasses the lightbulb and sends 5A to the igniter, setting it off.