High current stepper with L298

Hi, I recently bought quite powerful stepper motor 57STH56-2804 http://www.snasda.com/doc/57STH.pdf (2.8A, 2.5V) I decided for this one because I intend to use its high torque. However I am new in this "hardware things" and I would be really thankful for some help.

I found out, that it should be possible to use two L298 drivers, one for each coil, if I use paralled configuration (See Fig.7 http://www.gme.cz/_dokumentace/dokumenty/332/332-005/dsh.332-005.1.pdf) because this way L298 should allow me to get up to 3A. Here comes my first question. Will L298 limit the current on its own, or do I have to care about it, to not burn it? I expect the answer to be that I have to care, so how can I limit the current? I want to power the motor from battery, so I care about power consumption and if I put a resistor in the circuit, I will get huge amount of energy losing to heat. Better solution might be MOSFET ahead of the L298, so I could limit the current a bit more with arduino, when I don't need full torque, but still lot of energy lost on MOSFET. So any other ideas to limit the current and not waste so much energy?

Also about the steppers, I'd like to be sure that I understand correctly, how it works: Rated voltage is a minimum voltage the motor needs to work and if i give him higher voltage, current will get faster to the coils and it'll be able to achieve higher speeds, right? But, if I constantly give 2A, there will still be just about 1.8V on my 57STH56 and rest of voltage would be lost somewhere in L298 probably, so what am I missing? Current 2.8A in specs is maximum current I can use and get maximum torque, if I give it less current, I'll get less torque, if i give more than 2.8A, I'll break the motor?

Thanks in advance for any help, I'd really appreciate it. And sorry for my bad english, not my mother language.

R3gyT: Hi, I recently bought quite powerful stepper motor 57STH56-2804 http://www.snasda.com/doc/57STH.pdf (2.8A, 2.5V)