High power RGB LED hookup

Okay, with all school things passed and over with I finally have some time for the important stuff again. So I had an idea (a while ago, and I've been around here asking about it a few times, sorry :P) to create this RGB lamp for fun essentially, but I'd like to be able to read something using just the RGB lamp. I've looked around a bit now, and I've got an eye on these: http://www.sure-electronics.net/DC,IC%20chips/LE-LL007.pdf .

3W RGB LED,Full Color-1W Per Color 30-50lm, 1pcs Intensity: Red(30lm), Green(55lm), Blue(9lm), Viewing Angle: 160 degrees, Forward Voltage: 2.2~2.8V(Red), 3.0~3.8V(Green), 3.0~3.8V(Blue), Forward Current: 350mA.

Now while I'm at home with programming stuff for quite a while, I'm still to be considered a total newb at electronics (as I am!!!!!one!1eleven!), but I've understood I'd (probably?) need a transistor or LED driver (?) or something to use these with the Arduino. Now, say I'd like to hook up 3 of these 3W RGB LEDs, and I need to be able to control them smoothly with PWM, what should I start looking for? Oh, and sorry for the eternal questions and no results shown whatsoever, but when I finish this one (which should be soon now) I'll post some images, a video and sources (and diagrams if I can make those nicely) here. Thanks in advance :)

To have enough PWM, I'd say you have to use a TLC5940 (16 channel PWM), won't be hard to hook it up to your led as it has no common cathode or anode. However, you'll need some kind of external power supply as it needs 350mA per led, so the Arduino won't be able to drive 3 of thoses. I wonder if the TLC5940 can take such powerful leds.

Thanks for the quick reply :slight_smile:
Now some googling tells me the ‘per channel drive’ of the PWM chip/thing you mentioned is 120 mA. Supposing ‘per channel drive’ is indeed the maximum drive it can give one single LED, then indeed it wouldn’t be able to cope, even if I’d throw in the external power source.