High school independent research project ideas

I'm hoping I put this in the correct area, I apologize if I didn't. I have been programming for a couple years now, and I have fallen in love with it. A few months ago, I found out about arduino. The physical world interaction makes me even more driven to learn as much as I can. I have been working on projects, and normally complete them, but the main thing holding me back from learning at my fastest is cost.

Today, I showed my java teacher what I've been building and the drawbacks ive been facing, and she told me about student government given grants. They will supply your independent research with up to 250$. This is the opportunity I need, but because it is the schools money, I feel like it should be either of interest to the school or in the schools name. So my question is, what project will give me the most learning potential, while being a worthy independent research project? Thanks!

So my question is, what project will give me the most learning potential, while being a worthy independent research project?

Where ever your "passion" is, is the best place to start: chemistry, electronics, robotics, astrometry, biology, environmental, solar, etc. Just be passionate and stay true to your interests... I guarantee you that if you are driven to make a difference, then you will have great opportunities to learn and grow.

Ray

...I feel like it should be either of interest to the school...

"Interest to the school"? It's an inanimate object. I doubt it is too concerned with your project.