high speed Camera Trigger help

H i all
I need some help with a project I am building for a high speed camera trigger, I found the design online which has the following features
Controlled by a MCU
Adjustable sensitivity
Adjustable delay – i.e. the user can set how many milliseconds after the sound event the picture should be taken.
Operated from battery and/or external power.
Completely decoupled from the camera by opto couplers, so that no harm can be caused by the circuit to the camera.
Can be used with any camera that has a remote control input (direct, IR or otherwise).
Can also be used to trigger any other electronic device, e.g. flash.

I can follow the circuit and build it, the problem I have is how to code it as I am a complete novice to MCU’s, I have the code but its for a PIC16F886 chip and I have no idea how to change this for use with a ATMEGA328p and Uno, I have searched the web but I am have trouble finding any tutorials to help.

I would be really grateful for any help or guidance

delay.inc (408 Bytes)

display.inc (3.66 KB)

init.inc (1.17 KB)

main.asm (8.53 KB)

Here is the rest of the code

math.inc (1.92 KB)

rotaryencoder.inc (852 Bytes)

Maybe you should look for an arduino version instead. Something like this or this.

Google "arduino camera trigger" returns lots of good stuff.

As others have mentioned, there are lots of others out there. If you didn't want to do the build, there are two commercial units that I'm aware of that provide either a pre-built platform or an Arduino shield, though both of these are on the pricey side:

Both release their code, so if you wanted inspiration, you might want to consult it.

In terms of firing the camera, there are a couple of methods, it depends on your camera: