High Speed Counts from Rotary Encoder

Hi, sorry if this is a dumb question but any help would be much appreciated!

I'm trying to set up a counter to monitor angular motor position from a dc motor's attached rotary encoder. the encoder is 100ppr and connected directly to the motor shaft. I have wired up the encoder and am using the example rotary encoder code from the Arduino playground.

I am getting counts displayed over serial but they seem to be very wrong and im guessing this is because the frequency is too high. roughly it takes 5 seconds to do one rev of the 200:1 output shaft. so 20000 pulses in 5 seconds. so ~ 4kHz....

I don't really know what maximum frequency i can expect from this sort of counting.. Is this kind of frequency just way too fast? and if so is there a way to make it work?

Thanks again for any help, as a mechanical engineer i think there may be a few gaping holes in my electronics knowledge.

Can you post your sketch, and maybe a diagram of your setup?

am getting counts displayed over serial

Depending on how you are counting the pulses then sending a number over the serial connection could have the effect of missing some. Serial data takes a long time to transmit. Have you tried changing the baud rate and seeing if that affects the readings?

4KHz sounds like it should be OK for the arduino, is this an optical rotary encoder? If not then a mechanical one could be struggling at this speed.

1 Like

Are you using the interupt routines to detect the pulses from the encoder? http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Main/RotaryEncoders If so, make sure you do as little as possible in the interupt routine, ie just add or subtract from a counter depending on the direction the shaft is spinning.

Here is the cut and paste code im using:

/* read a rotary encoder with interrupts
   Encoder hooked up with common to GROUND,
   encoder0PinA to pin 2, encoder0PinB to pin 4 (or pin 3 see below)
   it doesn't matter which encoder pin you use for A or B