High speed Data logging project

Hi guys,

I am new to the arduino world and it has been a long time in general since I had to program myself.

So my current problem is, that I have to measure 3 ADC 10 bit values all 100us and save these data to an sd card. the measurement time is 2 seconds worst case. Do you have any suggestions or is there already an adaptable sketch for doing so ?

Thank you

2,1 or even .2 seconds is not all that high speed. Plenty of time to write data to the SD card.

Not easy. IIRC, the Uno takes 100uS to read an analog pin and the single ADC is shared between the pins and readings may be influenced by the previous one, so there's often a need to read twice get an accurate result, so it's already six times too slow.

You're going to end up with ~half a meg of data to write out too, and I suspect that the SD card will not be able to keep up.

You may want to get something a lot faster than an Uno, possibly some external ADCs and ethernet to send the data to a server.

So the Uno only has one ADC shared between all ADC pins ?
What do you mean by accurate ? How much is it off due to this ?

I have an class 10 SD card, I think it is fast enough.

I have read something about a data logger that is up to 100ksps so why should this timing be a problem?

If you read the ADC, the reading you get may influence the next read. If that happens, you need to read the pin again.

As to the SD card , simple enough to try it to see if it is fast enough.

A mistake that many people make is to open the file, write a bit of data, then close it again, which slows down the process by a factor of ten or more and increases the error rate.

Open the file once in setup(), then in loop() read data and write to the card. Close the file only when data collection is completely finished.

Most microprocessors have only one ADC, if any.