High striker - My first arduino project.

Hi Folks,
I'm a total newbie so please bear with me. So hello Arduino world, here goes......

I'm building a high striker, test your strength fairground type thing and I'd like, eventually to have a series of lighting/pyro events as the 'puck' ascends.

I'm thinking 3 to 4 switches with a different 'event' for each one. A bubble machine @ No.1, smoke @ No.2, fire @ No.3 etc plus LED lighting. So I'll need to be able to trigger solenoids etc. I'd need to program in delays too.

How would I go about setting that up/programming it and what kit/setup should I be looking at?

I'm no programmer but I have done some Qbasic with my son, he can get his head around Python these days....

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Crispin.

If you want to do this in Arduino, you'll have to use C++.

For the other effects: get the appropriate devices to create them, and a few sensors that are triggered by the puck as it moves along (hall effect + magnet in the puck may work well for your situation).

An Arduino can switch stuff on and off easily through external relays or transistors/MOSFETs (do a search on this forum for hundreds of threads discussing this).

The most important thing to remember is that computers are the most bone-headed, obtuse things you can possibly deal with. If you're even done that "tell someone how to make a sandwich" game where they follow your exact literal instructions to the letter and nothing more, that's the way you need to be when programming.

One example to consider: if you just do naive edge detection on whatever sensor is detecting the puck at each level, each sensor will be triggered twice. Once on the way up, and again on the way down. This will set off your effects twice per hit. Is that acceptable? If not, you need to contrive some logic that only triggers the effects once per hit, and then some way to reset it when the puck is back on the bottom.