Highscore on Breathalyzer

Hi guys,

i’m currently working on a breathalyzer as a party gadget.
I’m using a MQ-3 Gas sensor, Arduino Uno and a 1m NeoPixel strip (30Leds).

My wish is to show the current “highscore” (a peak hold) on the strip, so it becomes more of a game.

Does anyone has an idea for me how to achieve that?

I couldn’t find a suitable solution on other projects (for example VU Meters). As I’m quite new to Arduino maybe the codes were a bit to complicated for me to adapt onto my project.

Here is my sketch so far:

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>
#define NEOPIXELPIN 6
#define PIXNUM 30

Adafruit_NeoPixel strip = Adafruit_NeoPixel(PIXNUM, NEOPIXELPIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);

int analogPin = A0;

int Value = 0;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);

strip.begin();
  strip.show();

pinMode(analogPin, INPUT);
}

void loop()
{
  int sensorValue = analogRead(A0);
  Serial.println(sensorValue);

alcohol();

strip.setBrightness(255);

}

void alcohol(){  

//get the value of the MQ-3
   Value = analogRead(analogPin);

//lower the shown Value
  for(int y = 0; y <= 30; y++){
    strip.setPixelColor(y, strip.Color(0, 0, 0));
  }

//show the Value on the NeoPixel
  for(int i = 0; i < map(Value, 100, 400, 0, 30); i++){
    strip.setPixelColor(i, strip.Color(i*3, 30 - i, 0));
  }
  strip.show();
}

Nice easter

What actual values are you getting from the sensor?

Did you see the comments Google found searching for “MQ-3 Gas sensor”. They relate to sensor value vs. temperature.

Paul

Hi Paul,

I guess you don't mean the values that are printet by the serial monitor?!

I don't need to know the exact concentration as it is just a fun gadget.

Isn't it possible to just hold the highest shown pixel of the strip?

Tim

timbo91:
Hi Paul,

I guess you don't mean the values that are printet by the serial monitor?!

I don't need to know the exact concentration as it is just a fun gadget.

Isn't it possible to just hold the highest shown pixel of the strip?

Tim