HM-10 signal delay

Hey guys I’m still fairly new to Arduino, but things are going really well. I ran into an issue and I think I know what it is, but I want opinions from folks who know more than I do.

I have my Arduino set up to connect to my iPhone over a BLE connection using an HM-10 breakout module. It works great and I can send commands from my phone (currently testing with LightBlue app).

The problem is that I have noticed a delay in the response time after I send a command. (around 1/2 sec) I really need a MUCH faster response if I am going to be able to drive a robot over Bluetooth. Also because of the delay, if I send commands too quickly they get jumbled up.
I think the delay is in the HM-10, but I’m not sure. Maybe I need to change my settings?

Also, does anyone know how to detect signal loss on the HM-10? I want to stop motors if the signal is lost, but haven’t figured that out yet.
Please let me know what you think.

I attached my HM-10 configuration code:

/*
 *  Configuration sketch for HM-10 BLE Module
 *  This sketch allows you to send AT commands to your HM-10
 *  Corey Wilkes
 *  July 2015
 *  Available commands:
 *    Command         Response              Purpose                       Parameters
 *    AT              OK                    Connection Test               None
 *    AT+BAUD?        OK+Get[0-8]           Get Baud Rate                 0=9600, 1=19200, 3=38400, 3=57600, 4=115200, 5=4800, 6=2400, 7=1200, 8=230400
 *    AT+BAUD[0-8]    OK+SET[0-8]           Set Baud Rate                 0=9600, 1=19200, 3=38400, 3=57600, 4=115200, 5=4800, 6=2400, 7=1200, 8=230400
 *    AT+CLEAR        OK+CLEAR              Clear Last Connected Device   None
 *    AT+NAME?        OK+NAME[Str]          Get Device Name               String of max length 12
 *    AT+NAME[Str]    OK+SET[Str]           Set Device Name               String of max length 12
 *    AT+PASS?        OK+GET[#]             Get Device Password           Integer 000000-999999