HobbyCNC Easy Driver Sketch

I was having trouble using the stepper.h library to turn a stepper motor a designated # of turns at a designated speed. I ended up writing my own sketch to do this without the benefit of a library. The HobbyCNC board takes High/Low signals for step and direction, much like PWM. The sketch I wrote works, but being new to all this stuff (including programming).

Can you guys look over this and give me any pointers to improve it?

I noticed it does “burp” a little when it has to print to Serial Monitor, but I just put this in to test the motor output turns.

I’m writing this for a guitar pickup winder I’m building, and will eventually have a sketch for auto-traverse for another stepper motor. My plan will be complete interaction with an LCD screen and keypad. I’m new to all this, so I’m sure more questions will follow as I proceed.

/*  
    Sketch to rotate a stepper motor a number of designated revolutions (turns) and output
    the number of turns to Serial Monitor.
    This sketch was designed for the HobbyCNC 4AUCP REV 0 driver board that accepts digital
    I/O (high/low) signals for step and direction.

Created by William Begg 
     December 8, 2011
*/

#define stepPin 8      // Sets step pin to Digital pin 8
#define dirPin 9       // Sets Direction pin to digital pin 9

const long StepSeconds(75000);    // Microsecond Factor for setting actual speed. 1/2 of time to move 1 RPM. (Hi and Low will be 150,000 microseconds )
long NumberTurns(500);            // Number of turns to complete
int MotorSpeed(200);              // Speed in RPMs
const int StepsPerRev(400);       // Motor steps per revolution. Most will be 200, but my driver operates 1/2 Step.
long NumberSteps(0);              // Variable for counting steps
long CurrentTurns(0);             // Tracks current # of turns

void setup() 
{
  Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(stepPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dirPin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(dirPin, HIGH);  // Set direction to clockwise