Home Automation Light Project

Hello all, I am completely new to Arduino. I have a project at work where I need to create a prototype and have it finished by the end of July 2021. My first step is I need to purchase all the parts needed, but am unsure what is needed. What I need for it to do is hook up to wifi/bluetooth and be able to give voice commands through Amazon Alexa as well as a smart phone to turn on/off three different LED lights together as well as independently of each other. Temperature would also be nice to have. If you needed to do this what Arduino components would you order? Thank you for your help.

I think you'd probably need to hook up a setup where you tell Alexa to the thing, it turns on a light, you have a phototransistor next to that, it tells the Arduino, which does the thing. Or, even better, Alexa adjusts the brightness and the Arduino picks that up, and does the thing.

I am looking at the Uno Wifi rev 2. Would that do everything I need it to do? I still need to purchase the LED lights. Any other parts I would possibly need? Is there a kit that would make sense to purchase that would have everything I need plus extra? Is there a power supply I can purchase, I saw somewhere where it says that it is not smart to run lights off of the Arduino.

I found online that the Uno Wi-Fi rev2 costs 60 US$, while a dimmer switch for my idea costs 20 US$. So my idea is cheaper. And I think simpler.

You can power ordinary LEDs from an Arduino, but if you're talking about some high intensity device you may need an external supply for them and some transistors to turn them on and off.

If you need an app on the phone, look at Blynk.

The tricky part is Alexa integration, but I expect that you can find a tutorial that explains how to do it.

These are going to be pretty high intensity. Think exterior lighting of a home.