Home Automation

I am looking into starting a small home automation project. I am currently a college student and would like to eventually control the lamps, tv, radio etc. in my room with my iPod touch. I have been researching various devices and arduino seems like a very good option both with its capability and price.
I was wondering what everyone thinks is the best way to go about doing this? maybe with ethernet through a router? or maybe just using xbee? or x10?
Thanks for the ideas, suggestions, and points in the right direction

Try to do a search in the forum, there has been a number of threds on homeautomation recently, and i think some people have arranged to share whatever info / projects they have

Hi,

I'm looking into Home Automation as well, and put my notes here: http://sites.google.com/site/hamsproject/

Feel free to contact me off-list.

Greetings, EriSan500

So I was doing some thinking last night and thought about going about this in the following manner.. I would like to hook both my iPod (or computer) up to a wireless router by wifi and then hook up the arduino board to the router using the ethernet shield.. then would it be possible to send packtes to communicate from my iPod/computer through the router to the arduino board in order to control it? and then have the arduino dim a light or send an IR signal from there? Thanks for the help!

In theory, yes (you're going to need a bunch of glue code, though).

Not to deter you from using an Arduino, but using one technically complicates matters; there are tons of USB interface boards out there to allow digital i/o control, relay control, analog i/o, etc - all via simple USB interfaces (in many cases done with FTDI USB serial, like the Arduino).