Home made gaming rig using Arduino. Is it possible?

I am relatively new to Arduino but I do computer science at school so I have experience with programming but I do not know what hardware to use as a simulator rig(steering wheel, joystick and control panel) a bit like the Seitek farming simulator rig but I do not have the money to buy it so I thought it would be good to make one my self using Arduino . If you have any pointers please feel free to share them with me. Thanks in advanced

The Teensy has a good library to act as a joystick. Up to 32 buttons and 6 axes is trivially easy to do.

The Micro and Due can also do it but it's not as simple.

The Uno can also do it. My fork from Google Code-unmodded You just need Atmel Flip and a jumper to reset the 16u2

Gamingjosh: I am relatively new to Arduino but I do computer science at school so I have experience with programming but I do not know what hardware to use as a simulator rig(steering wheel, joystick and control panel) a bit like the Seitek farming simulator rig but I do not have the money to buy it so I thought it would be good to make one my self using Arduino . If you have any pointers please feel free to share them with me. Thanks in advanced

Are you only making a controller? Not a whole game?

This is the Arduino you want -- page from Arduino site.

See the pins? It plugs into a breadboard if you want. You can also slide female jumper wire ends onto the pins with no need to solder, you can get DuPont (Ribbon) Cable jumpers with the ends you choose.

The USB connect with Arduinos whose chips have USB hardware built in is at full USB speed. The AVR core doesn't have to do the USB work, it will be faster. And... the 32U4 has 2560 bytes or RAM where the 328P has 2048, the extra 512 is just the size of a default USB/SPI/SD buffer.