Honda fire pump - bushfire pump remote start (5 mins on 5 off controller)

Hi,

I am new to Arduino and want to create an automatic petrol bushfire pump starter/controller.
The pump uses a Honda GX 200 with 12v electric start.

We currently have rigged the fire pump to a wired remote start from inside the house, using long wire leads and a car door actuator for the choke.

We desperately want to create an auto start for our fire pump in the event of bushfire when we either/or

• are home and want to escape a bushfire but leave the pump cycle to turn on for 5 mins, off for 5 mins, to conserve water while we escape but save the house
  • auto start if fire arrives (temp or smoke sensor?)
  • remote start by mobile network

Specs
Aussie fire pump
Petrol Honda engine 5.5 hp GX petrol engine

Ideally it would
turn choke on (using car door actuator we installed)
turn pump on
turn choke off
turn pump off after 5 mins
turn pump on again after 5 mins (no choke required for 2nd start)

Any clues greatly appreciated.
-Simon

Products_pumps_QP pumps_2a_Aussie Fire Fighting Pumps Petrol.pdf (881 KB)

Sounds like you already have a lot of the stuff you need, some relays across your current switches will sort out most of the hardware (as long as the wires are protected).

The hard part will be detecting the presence of a fire I guess, would detecting ambient temp be good enough and be in time?

I guess the pump is driving sprinklers on the roof? It would be nice to have that running before the fire hits I would think.

You may need to get information on the dynamics of a fire front, speeds, temp profiles etc.

Rob

Sprinklers on the roof would be the best, Idea: collect the water from the gutter filter it and reuse it.

Fire detection is a problem as a spark can fly dozens of meters and fall on the roof.

The system should also be able to do testruns, once per month 5 minute or so, to see all things work. This includes checking the level of the battery used.

my 2 cents