Hot tubs (again)

Hi all
This is my 1st post and I confess to being a complete novice.

We have a hot tub that works perfectly well. It’s running a Balboa M7 logic board which gives 3 operational modes
Normal - Temperature is maintained by a 4 hourly heating cycle
Economy - Temperature is maintained by an 8 hourly heating cycle
Sleep - Temperature is not maintained, except for frost protection

Temperature information is provided by 2 x temperature dependant resistors, one each side of the heater element. I have the specifications of the resistance / temperature curve.

Scenario, we mostly use the tub at weekends. I want a custom heating cycle without impacting any of the other normal processes provided by the Balboa controller.

My idea is to use an Arduino uno to ‘spoof’ the controller by replacing the tdr with fixed value resistors from Monday - Friday which will tell the Balboa that temp = ok, do not apply power to the heater.
Friday afternoon - Sunday midnight, switch the fixed value resistors out and switch the standard temperature dependant resistors back in.

This is just a very early idea, I may wish to utilise the analog inputs to read the tdr values and do something more exotic later.

I think I will need the following:

Arduino uno, relay block (latching ?), fixed value resistors, timing routine

Thoughts, comments, suggestions welcome

Cheers

That sounds like a complicated way to turn the power off Monday-Friday. A timer switch would do it much more simply.

If frost protection is actually necessary in your area then I suggest you don't mess with it. Frozen pipes will cost a lot more than the electricity you might save monday to friday.

If you don't need the frost protection then just unplug the thing.