How best to control every part of a home (switches, sockets ,bulbs)

Hello y'all,

Great being here. I would like to control every single part of a home(like a 3bedroom apartment), I want to know how best to go about it using arduino as sample project. Please put in mind I am new in electrical electronic but fascinated about this project.

What I mean about every part of the home is all bulbs, sockets in and out. Would it be easy if I connect it to the junction box and control from there or what do you suggest I do. How feasible and I mean easy will this be . Thanks

Oh dear! :astonished:

Paul__B:
Oh dear! :astonished:

Is something wrong with my question

Bouss: Is something wrong with my question

Yes. You are new in electronics and you want to get your hands on junction boxes main voltage (110 or 220 Vac). That is not for beginners because of the risks.

Besides of the risks, this kind of projects are complex, you have to deal with networks, servers, lots of circuitery, app interfaces and so on, so it is a fun project, yes, but not easy at all. You should google up some examples by looking for "arduino domotics projects" to form your own idea of the complexity.

You learn the basics first, get an arduino book (tons in amazon) and start reading they are excelent.

Your best start might be to do a lot of reading using google searches and reading in home automation forums like below.

http://board.homeseer.com/

u can use es8266 module (it is 2$ or so) to connect ur devices to internet through ur access point in ur home then through the internet where ever u go u can control them

Okay… Thanks. Any other information will be very helpful.cheers

The words "new" and "electrical" in the same sentence rightfully send a feeling of fear though our bodies.

The voltage you want to control is lethal. That is why we do not want to give advice on connecting to it. If you make a mistake following our instruction, it reflects back on us. Oh, as well, it may kill someone.