How can I control Timing of Serial.write ??

I am a beginner with Arduino. I have a project requiring RS485 half duplex communications. There is no hardware control with a single twisted wire pair for RS485 except with software control of a third wire to control the RX/TX enable pins 2 (RE) and 3(DE) on the 485 chip. These are inverted from each other so pulling both low or high together, enables and disables them reciprocally. I wrote the following basic subroutine to enable TX, send several bytes, then go back to RX state.

byte sendPacket[5] = {2, 136, 49, 6, 4};

void SendToSerial()
{
  delay (50);  // needed for my device TX must not be sent for at least 50msecs after RX

digitalWrite(MAX483_RX_TX_Control, HIGH);    // sets the RE HIGH(output disabled) and DE LOW(input enable)on MAX483
    for (int i=0; i < 5; i++)
    {
      Serial.write(sendPacket[i]);
    }
  digitalWrite(MAX483_RX_TX_Control, LOW);    // sets the DE HIGH(disabled) and RE LOW(enable)on MAX483  
}

I found that the the above routine is executed much faster and completes before the serial output is completed.

A picture is attached from my scope of the output from the Arduino with the MAX483_RX_TX_Control pin being set high then low. In order for the RX/TX control pin to stay high until Serial.write was complete I added a 7 msec delay before the last digitalWrite command since the entire TX packet at 9600 baud is about 5 msec in duration. A picture of that is attached as well.

It took me some time to figure out why my code was not working correctly. I thought that the serial hardware was interrupt driven and that the next instruction, digitalWrite of the RX/TX Control pin, would not begin until serial TX was completed.

QUESTION: What does one do when the length of the TX packet being sent is unknown and could be very long? How do I provide for this in my code without slowing everything else down unnecessarily?

Hi k1jos