How can I debug applications ?

Hi all,

I am new at the Arduino platform and have my first questions. How can I debug my application. Is there a possibility to set breakpoints or watch the variables on the running application. Ho can I find errors in my programms. Is there an interface on the hardware to debug the application like JTAG or debugwire?

Thanks in advance for your help.

BR stephan0607

Hi stephan0607,

Without any knowledge about JTAG or debugwire i use the serial connection and (a lot of) Serial.print statements to debug my sketches.

Hope it helps.

Jeroen

Sometimes I use this: Arduino Playground - HomePage

Or, I might use simple LEDs to signal changes and such.

I'm with Yot. I usually put some serialPrint(some_value) in various places in my code so I can see if it is doing what it's supposed to be doing. Helps a lot.

Hi again,

There are a couple downsides (more like 'properties') to using serialprint statements. It takes time (sometimes relatively alot) to serial.print something. So in fast/small loops the serial.print command takes more time than the rest of the loop.
The serial.print statement returns to the rest of the program after the last byte is placed in send buffer. Not after the last byte is send. So before you get the last byte from a serial.print on your terminal there could be something else happening in your program. This part is explained in the reference.

I'm a new to arduino aswell, so, anything i wrote could be wrong/incomplete (but not by intention). Please keep on thinking for yourself. :slight_smile:

Have fun,

Jeroen

You are completely right. There are times when adding serial.print statements will throw off the timing of a block of code. For instance, reading data sent by another serial device. Or when responding to an interrupt.

Knowing that serial.print returns after having buffered, but not necessarily sent, the last byte can be worked around by printing and extra character after the data that "needs" to be sent.