How can I measure the RSSI value using an Xbee Series 1?

This is my first question ever on Arduino Forums so bear with me if I've done/said anything that is not of this site's "ethics". Moving on to the matter at hand...

I'm graduating in 1 week with a Bachelor's Degree in Electronics, Electrical, and Comms engineering. My only course this semester is Undergraduate Research and the topic is getting the RSSI value as well as the distance -both wirelessly using a battery attached to the Arduino- from an Xbee Series 1 attached to an Xbee Shield mounted on an Arduino Uno R3 and a second Xbee Series 1 attached to an Xbee Explorer Dongle connected to my Windows PC, (no breadboards are used). I've been able to have both Xbees talk to each other on XCTU but that's about it, unfortunately.

I've got the connections figured out, but I just can't seem to be able to figure out a proper code to upload onto the Arduino IDE since this is my first time ever using an Arduino. (And even if I do have a proper code, I don't know how to check if it works or not).

I'd appreciate everyone helping me graduate and become an engineer :). This thread is literally my final hope in passing this course.

Any further info/details/pictures shall be provided upon request.

Thanks in advance,

Aj

I’m graduating in 1 week with a Bachelor’s Degree in Electronics, Electrical, and Comms engineering.

the topic is getting the RSSI value as well as the distance

Have you thought of checking the data sheet ?

RSSI will only provide a measure of distance in very special circumstances.

You will have a tough time starting from scratch to learn enough about Ardunio to be able to read RSSI\Distance from the Xbee in a week, so I would guess you will fail, you should have thought about the project a long time ago.

srnet:
Have you thought of checking the data sheet ?

RSSI will only provide a measure of distance in very special circumstances.