How can i power and control 2 motors?

How would i power 2 3v motors and control their speed with an arduino?

From another question i asked here i learned that the digital pins on the arduino output enough voltage to power my motors but not enough amps (Not sure how much these small hobby motors use but i was told the digital pins only output 40ma each).

So i need to figure out how i can power and control the speed of each motor. My idea so far has been power the motors using the 3.3v power pin (im assuming it pumps out more amps, will need to research). Then in between the power supply and the motor add a piece of hardware that will close and open the circuit for the motor using a digital pins on/off state. (I have no idea what kind of hardware could be used to accomplish this though).

I'm still new to alot of this stuff so if anyone has ideas please explain everything in detail.

Thank you for any help :D

You're not that far off.....

Have a look at a circuit like this which uses a transistor to switch the power off and on by the PWM control of one of the data pins. But you would need an external supply to run the motor: the Arduino only does the control.

If you need to reverse direction as well, then you need to look at an h-bridge which have the added bonus of being able to run two motors.

Just don't use an L293 or L294 unless you want to give away 2 volts of your supply voltage. Those devices are not designed to drive low voltage devices.

Use something like: http://www.pololu.com/product/2135

Note they even give you a schematic on how to connect things.

rmetzner49: Just don't use an L293 or L294 unless you want to give away 2 volts of your supply voltage.

You mean a 298 I think.

But yes good point, and I should have mentioned that fact. I use a 2130.

You mean a 298 I think.