How can I program this? I'm a beginner.

I wanna program an arduino program, that while the potentiometer’s value is under 500, the delay between the blinks is 500 ms, while potentiometer’s value is 500 the delay is 1000 ms and while the potentiometer’s value is bigger than 500 the delay is 2000 ms.
My actual code is:

void setup() {
  pinMode(2, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  int potenziometro = analogRead(5);
  int velocita;

while (potenziometro < 500)
  {
    velocita = 500;  
  }
  while (potenziometro = 500) 
  {
    velocita = 1000;
  }
  while (potenziometro > 500)
  {
    velocita = 2000;
  }

digitalWrite(2, HIGH);
  delay(velocita);
  digitalWrite(2, LOW);
  delay(velocita);
}

but it don’t work. Can someone please explain how to code it?
Thanks.

If you read from analog pin 5, you should use: "analogRead(A5)". What does the code do?

EDIT: And you should probably add "pinMode(A5, INPUT)" to setup :slight_smile:

If you read from analog pin 5, you should use: "analogRead(A5)".

analogRead(5);will work fine as long as the pot is connected to pin A5 and not digital pin 5. The analogRead() function understands that 5 refers to A5

you should probably add "pinMode(A5, INPUT)" to setup

No real need as pins default to being inputs.

Having said all of that I personally would use the pinMode() function and refer to the pin as A5 rather than 5 to make it clear what was going on and exactly which pin was being used.

Oh… And you should probably use “if” instead of “while” LOL! :wink:

Wrong:

{
    velocita = 500; 
  }
  {
    velocita = 1000;
  }
  while (potenziometro > 500)
  {
    velocita = 2000;
  }

Right:

if (potenziometro < 500) velocita = 500;
else if (potenziometro == 500) velocita = 1000;
else /*if (potenziometro > 500)*/ velocita = 2000;

The readings from a pot-metre are usually fluctuating - so you should probably have “velocita = 1000” set in the range 450-550 (and adjust other ranges accordingly) in order to make it work.