How can I ´protect my arduino pro against external noise?

Hi, dear fellows!

I'm new here!

Recently, I've built a project with Arduino pro mini and I've been facing a huge problem. This problem is characterized by a freezing of the program - code running in the ATMega, and I think is related to the voltage drop of my power supply (12 Vdc).

The voltage drop occurs when I turn on a set of coils, that is connected in parallel with my power supply (see image below).

I'm not an expert in electronics, so I'd like an advice on how to build a device to protect my power supply/Arduino against this issue.

Thanks!

PS: I saw on the internet that inductors can help. However, I don't know how to size a proper inductor for my need.

ArduinoProject.jpg

Inductors are the problem not the solution.

First off... if you are experiencing a voltage drop of any kind... you need a better power source.

People usually attack this "inductive spike" in the power rail due to solenoids by starting with adding capacitors not additional inductors as they are much easier to lay your hands on...

Capacitors can help tame the spike on your power rail but your wiring but be the source of the excessive noise. Is your diode on the relay coil soldered really close to the relay? Are there LONG wires involved in this solution?

Sorry for annoying questions... but your image doesn't really answer them... (Its not really that informative in its current state)

In AC circuits, there are these neat RC snubber things you can use:

ArduinoProject.jpg

Power the Arduino from a separate 9VDC external power supply.
Use flyback/snubbing diodes across DC relay coils.
Relays are to be drive by a driver.

Some driver examples:

Inductors are the problem not the solution.

You can use them in power supply decoupling

From De-coupling

. However, I don't know how to size a proper inductor for my need.

The bigger the better, but you are restricted by size and cost.