How can I read AC 0-220Volts in ESP8266

Hello Everyone,

I am new to arduino So I am sorry if I can not explain properly, I am working on a project "Dimmable Lights", my question is, How can we monitor 0-220Volt OR how can we read 0-220Volt on ESP8266 or Arduino UNO.

Thanks in advance for the Help :)

Why do you want to monitor mains voltage? It makes little sense in the context of your project. Do you want to measure the voltage or just detect it's presence?

But just on the off chance that the OP does consider it relevant to his project, he will not be the first. link

Thanks Mike for the response, Actually My goal is to Control Lights intensity through App i-e Dimmable Lights, and additionally my requirement is "If anyone wants to control lights through manual dimmer", so, I have to check the status of the MANUAL Dimmer constantly.

Thanks.

Grumpy_Mike: Why do you want to monitor mains voltage? It makes little sense in the context of your project. Do you want to measure the voltage or just detect it's presence?

Thanks Mike for the response, Actually My goal is to Control Lights intensity through App i-e Dimmable Lights, and additionally my requirement is "If anyone wants to control lights through manual dimmer", so, I have to check the status of the MANUAL Dimmer constantly.

Thanks

jlsilicon:
Only suggesting this if you have Electronics experience.

You could start with a High-Voltage Rectifier-Bridge then a High-Impedence Resistor-Ladder.

O----*-->|----*

|       |
220       V        –
VAC      –        ^
          |       |
          ----   |   -------    
          |       |            < R1M
          |       —+      >
          |       |     |      |
         –       V     |       --------—> Adc0 : Arduino
         ^        –     |      |          |
          |       |     |       < R10K   – C10nF
  O----
--------*     |       >          –
                           |      |          |
                        ±—--------—>  Gnd : Arduino