How can I send I2C commands?

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to using I2C. I have a device (a DSP board) and I want to send some data from an Uno over I2C to it's registers to make it do something.

The DSP board is I2C master and has address 118 (0x76)

I have a program loaded on the DSP board with a register address (0x0016) holding a 4 byte value (32bit unsigned).

If the value is set 0 (0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00) the board will steady light and LED.
If the value is set 1 (0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00) the board will flash the LED.

How can I code the Arduino Uno to send that data to control the LED, please?

Thank you!

The DSP board is I2C master and has address 118 (0x76)

That's impossible. It's either an I2C master or it has address 118 but not both.

I have a program loaded on the DSP board with a register address (0x0016) holding a 4 byte value (32bit unsigned).

The I2C standard only describes the bus protocol but it doesn't tell anything about the higher levels. So there's no standard of how to write a register (although many I2C devices do that in a similar way) and that's especially true if the register is 32bit wide. So post a manual of that DSP device that describes the I2C requests necessary to write that register.

Thanks for your help!

It is an Analog Devices ADAU1452. Datasheet

In that case I think it must be a slave.

Currently it is connected to a USB programmer and the software 'Sigma Studio' can both program the DSP board eeprom so that the board self-boots and also control it in real time by writing to the registers. Conveniently, it shows the data being written.

I want to do that block writing from an Uno rather than the PC so I can control the DSP once in my device.

The flashing LED is just a practice example.

Use your favorite search engine with the keywords "arduino adau1452" for examples.

jremington:
Use your favorite search engine with the keywords "arduino adau1452" for examples.