How can I start millis() only when a signal is received?

Hi, I know this is a very basic question but I'm very new to arduino and was having trouble finding an answer to this question that I could clearly understand.

I have the following code:

int sensorPin = A0;
int sensorValue = 0;

// Values needs to be changed for the ipad display
int black = 940;
int white = 820;
char _switch = 'n';

unsigned long time;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(19200);
}

void loop() {
  time = millis();
  sensorValue = analogRead(sensorPin);
  switch (_switch){
    case 'n':
      if (sensorValue < 820){
        Serial.println(time);
        _switch = 'g';
        break;
      }
    case 'g':
      if (sensorValue > 920){
        _switch = 'n';
        break;
      }

}
}

This is hooked up to a photoresistor, and I want to print the time it records a white flash from a monitor.

I only want millis() to start counting when it receives a command from a C# script I am running, and I'm not sure how best to go about this.

I am guessing I could use something like the following:

if (Serial.available() > 0) {
    startTimer = Serial.read();
    if (startTimer == 1) {
        // then the rest of my loop here
    }
}

Where I would initialize startTime as 0, then send a 1 when I want millis() to start. However, this doesn't work I think because I am not constantly sending a signal to the arduino, it's only a single pulse, so I can't re-enter the if statement after the initial input.

So what would be the best way to go about this?

**edit: **
Ah so I realized pretty much immediately I can just not nest the second if statement in the first and it should work how I want it to, as posted below. Now I'm wondering if this is best practice, or if there is a better and simpler way to accomplish what I am trying to do.

if (Serial.available() > 0) {
    startTimer = Serial.read();
}

if (startTimer == 1) {
    // then the rest of my loop here
}

You are not thinking the right way about this.