How do I approach this project?

I am a beginner with the arduino platform and coding, but I want to start up a project. My idea is to build a scoreboard with scores, periods, and a timer. I want to know how to code it, but don’t really know where to start. I want there to be two separate modules, one to display, one to control. The control panel I want to have a num pad to enter the time, an LED to indicate time is actually running, a reset switch, a period inc/dec, and then home/away scores. I really appreciate all your guys’ help. Thanks!

13adf1a5b1477b8f2744fd042ffd2cf67c9be334.png

How to post images.

noahsevcik:
I am a beginner with the arduino platform and coding, but I want to start up a project. My idea is to build a scoreboard with scores, periods, and a timer. I want to know how to code it, but don’t really know where to start. I want there to be two separate modules, one to display, one to control. The control panel I want to have a num pad to enter the time, an LED to indicate time is actually running, a reset switch, a period inc/dec, and then home/away scores. I really appreciate all your guys’ help. Thanks!

We help those who have tried. We do not do systems design, product engineering, nor code.Please start with the basics and we can help.

Paul

Paul_KD7HB:
We do not do systems design, product engineering, nor code.

I'm more than happy to do all those things for clients at my hourly rate.....

noahsevcik:
My idea is to build a scoreboard with scores, periods, and a timer. I want to know how to code it, but don't really know where to start.

Do a site search on 'scoreboard', there are a number of threads on this.

Actually, since you admit you don't know where to begin, might I suggest learning your way around the C++ language (voluminous resources on this site and elsewhere on the web) and studying the demo sketches in IDE/file/examples. Especially the first five in examples/digital.

dougp: