How do I choose a motor type for my heavy lifting project?

I’m working on creating an interactive terminal for a public installation at my local library. It will be placed on a bookshelf with a keyboard and monitor inside. Two modules will rotate 90° when a button is pressed to reveal a terminal and keyboard hidden underneath (one module for each). Both will blend in entirely with the environment until the user activates the button on the side.

I’m extremely new to Arduino and struggling with choosing a motor type and the other key components to rotate the modules. I’m assuming I’ll have to purchase an Adafruit Servo/Stepper Shield, since it seems like it would make controlling and powering the motors easier and safer.

I’m still unsure what the best type of motor would be. I do intend to balance the back and bottom of the module in order to help it rotate more easily, but it is still slightly heavier than the standard hobby servo can lift. I'm also looking to keep it rather quiet, since it will be in the library and any noise will be noticeable even with added insulation. It doesn't need to turn quickly or be overly compact, but it can't run too hot either.

I suspect a generic window motor could work, but I'm really just guessing. They're relatively inexpensive and definitely powerful enough. Although, I'm not certain how quiet they would be or if I'm really on the right track. I also haven't found any tutorials or setups directly outlining how to control one with an Arduino.

I think I can use two limiter switch to stop the module when it open and closes, but I'm also uncertain how I would force it to stop if something obstructs the module (I wouldn't wanting crushing someone's hand).

It's a pretty ambitious first project, but I'm very passionate about seeing it working. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! :slight_smile:

I have used auto window motors several times to move large loads.
You should be able to get surplus motors like that for only $8.00.