How do I create a counter to compare with two sets of data

Hi everyone, I am new here to seek help with my code. I am a student from UCD, because of the coronavirus, I was not able to get help from my professor or TA.
I am using the light sensor on the circuit playground to collect data. But I am not sure how do I make a counter for comparing with two sets of data.
I have attached my code file. Please talk a look at my file and give me some hints if you had any suggestions about this. Thank you for your time!

#include <Adafruit_CircuitPlayground.h>
float threshold;
float peak;
float trough;
float pulse;

float temp;
bool dir;
int counter;
float increase;

void setup() {
while (!Serial);
Serial.begin (115200);
Serial.println(“Circuitplayground Pulse sensor test”);
CircuitPlayground.begin();
CircuitPlayground.setBrightness(255);
CircuitPlayground.setPixelColor(1, 0, 255, 0);
counter=0;
threshold=240;
temp=0;
increase=0;
}

void loop() {

Serial.println(CircuitPlayground.lightSensor());
delay(20);
pulse = CircuitPlayground.lightSensor();
peak=threshold+10;
trough=threshold-10;

if(pulse>threshold){
CircuitPlayground.setPixelColor(5, 0, 0, 255);
} else {
CircuitPlayground.setPixelColor(5, 0, 0, 0);
}

if (pulse > peak){
threshold=threshold+10;
} else if (pulse < trough){
threshold=threshold-10;
}

if (pulse>increase) {
counter=counter+1;
increase = increase+pulse;
}

if (counter==5){
temp=increase;
increase=0;
}

if (counter==10) {
if (temp<increase) {
dir=true;
} else {
dir=false;
}
counter=0;
}

if (dir==true && pulse > peak){
threshold=threshold+10;
} else if (dir==false && pulse < trough ){
threshold=threshold-10;
}

}

des178Final3.ino (1.32 KB)

Does your program compile with no errors and does it run and are the results what you expect?

Paul

not clear what your code does or is trying to do

what is the data you're trying to collect and what do you want to do with it?

gcjr:

what is the data you're trying to collect and what do you want to do with it?