How do i make readings from a high voltage AC source

Hello, this is my first time working with arduino and im working on a project where i have to take readings from a piezoelectric damper and control a switching circuit using the arduino. Switching has to occur at every zero crossing. The source can generate readings of up to 200V and i know that arduino can only accept voltages in the range of 0 to 5V.

How can i take voltage inputs from the piezo so that i can realiably do the required switching at the zero crossings? Im guessing I would need some sort of external circuitry to step down the voltage before giving it to the arduino as an input.

Is the 200V signal coming directly from the Piezo or from the power line? Are you trying to switch the AC power line at the zero crossing?

Any connections to the power line need to be electrically isolated for safety.

If the 200V is coming from the Piezo, you can simply use a [u]voltage divider[/u] (2 resistors) and a pair of [u]protection diodes[/u] to knock-down the voltage. (The protection diodes are in case the voltage is not 100% predictable or controlled.) Isolation isn't required for the voltage directly from a Piezo. It isn't dangerous to you because it has very low current capability. But, it can kill your Arduino.

If you need to switch AC power at the zero-crossing, you can get a [u]zero-crossing solid state relay[/u]. A relay provides electrical isolation, and with this type of relay, your Arduino doesn't need to "know" where the zero-crossing is... You activate the relay and it switches-on at the next zero-crossing (and it will also wait for a zero-crossing before it turns off).

If you are confident building power-line circuits, you can build your own solid state relay with a special [u]zero-crossing opto-isolator[/u] and a TRIAC.