how do i run a function every 2 mins in the loop

i want a function to run in the loop but i don't want it to run every time it loops. i want it to run every 2 or 3 mins how can this be done?

sorry if it obvious to some people but i'm new to all this

Research "Blink Without Delay"

Something like this:

unsigned long lastMillis;
void setup()
{
}
 void loop()
{ 
//is the time up for this task?
  if (millis() - lastMillis >= 2*60*1000UL) 
  {
   lastMillis = millis();  //get ready for the next iteration
   myFunction();
  }

// other code
}

First question: Is this the only process you want to be running, or do you want more than one process running (multi tasking) ?

Do you want the easy way, or the harder way?

If you only have one function to run, and want the easy way, then something like:

void setup() { }

void loop() { myFunction(); delay(1000*120); // 2 minute delay }

yes there is a touchscreen touch detect and a check to see if an RF BUtton is pressed going on as well in the loop

Then you need the multi tasking version. Do you understand the system that LarryD provided. That should work for your needs.

yes i do thanks alot for this

The best way to schedule events without losing time accuracy (may not matter here, but it can) is this:

unsigned long target_time = 0L ;

#define PERIOD 2*60*1000L ;

void loop ()
{
  if (millis () - target_time >= PERIOD)
  {
    target_time += PERIOD ;   // change scheduled time exactly, no slippage will happen
    /// do stuff
  }
  // other stuff
}

This will matter a lot for fast repetition where the CPU time to handle the tests and other actions of loop() are significant compared to the PERIOD. This code will also "catch up" if something called from loop () delays longer than PERIOD.

#define PERIOD 2*60*1000L ;

oops ;)

Have a look at several things at a time. It is an extended example of BWoD

...R

@Robin2 "Have a look at several things at a time. It is an extended example of BWoD"