How do i slow down my servo in my code

So first off I’m new to this and i don’t fully understand code and its in and outs but im sorta stuck and now really need some help.

so my problem is i have some code for my project what on press of a button changes the position of my servo from one point to another and apon a second press of the button it goes back to the first point and so on and so on, but as it is it moves way to fast for my linking and since this is for use in a helmet it currently throws the weight forward what its arm is attached.

so i just want to be able to slow it down so it still moves smoothly but also doesn’t try and lurch my forward.

Any help would be highly appreciated

#include <Servo.h>;

// pushbutton pin
 const int buttonPin = 8;

// servo pin
 const int servoPin = 3;
 Servo myservo;

int pos = 0;

//create a variable to store a counter and set it to 0
int counter = 0;
void setup()
{
  myservo.attach (3);

// Set up the pushbutton pins to be an input:
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
}

void loop()  {

// local variable to hold the pushbutton states
  int buttonState;  

//read the digital state of buttonPin with digitalRead() function and store the           //value in buttonState variable
  buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

//if the button is pressed increment counter and wait a tiny bit to give us some          //time to release the button
  if (buttonState == LOW) // light the LED
  {
    counter++;
    delay(100);

}
  if(counter == 0)
    myservo.writeMicroseconds (1580);  // zero degrees
  else if(counter == 1)
    myservo.writeMicroseconds(0);

//else reset the counter to 0 which resets thr servo to 0 degrees
  else
   counter = 0;
}

If you had posted your code properly I would be able to see it but I can't open attachments.

But generally if you use use VarSpeedServo.h instead of the normal Servo.h library it will let you specify the speed the servo moves.

Steve

Have a look at the Servo Sweep example in the IDE

slipstick: