How do I switch a led on and off with same RFID TAG??

This is the code I am using but the led will only switch the led on when I set the val to read '1' ,and not the whole tag. It is something that seemed quite simple but turned out to be very hard for me as I'm new to the Arduino world. please help guys I know you are all very smart.

int ledon = 13; char val = 0; // variable to store the data from the serial port void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); // connect to the serial port

pinMode(ledon, OUTPUT);

} void loop () {

// read the serial port if(Serial.available() > 0) { val = Serial.read();

Serial.write(val); if (val == '1200134123'){ //this is an example tag but only works if i change it to 1 digitalWrite(13, HIGH);}

} }

Thanks so much in advance

Keenbop

if (val == '1200134123'){ //this is an example tag but only works if i change it to 1

The single char in val is NEVER going to match the multi-byte constant you have defined.

What is sending the serial data to the Arduino?

ID 12 inno rfid reader is sending the data through the serial port being picked up on the 0rx pin. digitalWrite(13, HIGH) then lights up the led. if I could use processing to do it would be even better. but I am a novice and don't understand the code very well but I need to figure it out for my honours project. How would I define the tag properly?

thanks for your reply

but I am a novice and don’t understand the code very well but I need to figure it out for my honours project.

Even a novice can use a search field. There has been plenty of code posted to read from a ID 12 reader.

You need to read a number of characters from the reader, and store them in an array. You need to properly NULL terminate the array, and then use strcmp() to see if that array matches the string that is the good tag id. Note that strings are delimited with ", not '.