How do I upload weather results to a cloud using ESP8266 and Zero-board

Shortly, I have built a weather station using arduino zero and I need to get the results to the cloud/server (I don’t know the difference but I think you get the idea. I want to be able to access the weather results via internet). I have esp8266-01. I have read about it and seen tutorials but I don’t understand alot of it since I am a beginner. This is where it gets tricky for me, there are alot good tutorials on this topic (one of them used thingspeak which seems ideal) but they all use Uno. normally I could copy the tutorials to my zero but on the network department there seems to be major differences with the ports and rx&tx. I have tried to read about the differences and change my code and wirings according to them but to no avail so far. I don’t really have a singular code I have been working on, i have just tried different things. So I think I want to just start from blank paper. What can I do to achieve my goal, where could I start? Thanks so much in advance. I can post one code which I copied from a thingspeak tutorial and tried to change some things to match Zero.

Hi.
I don't know if this will help you since I'm a beginner with ESP8266-01 too :D.
Remember that ESP8266-01 is not just a WiFi antenna, but a microcontroller, so you can upload a program to it.

For add the ESP based boards to your IDE, go to File -> Preferences and, on "Additional Boards Manager URLs" insert the next link: http://arduino.esp8266.com/stable/package_esp8266com_index.json
Then press ok, go to Tools-> Board -> Boards Manager and search for "esp8266", then install it.
Now, you have all ESP8266 based boards on your Arduino IDE, for using the ESP8266, go to Tools -> Board menu and select the first ESP8266 board on the list (Generic ESP8266 Module).

For flash/upload a programme to the ESP8266, you have to make the following connections:

• GND to GND
  • VCC to 3.3v