How do transistors differ?

Hi, I am pretty new to Arduino and I have come across many different types of transistors (2N2222A, TIP41C, BB135 etc.) so I was wondering how they all differ, don't they all consist of two P type and one N type or the opposite. And can I substitute them for each other? As far as I can tell the only difference is the layout of Collector, Base and Emitter.
Thank you.

There are many videos on YouTube that will explain things.

Also see things on the internet.

examples:

https://www.google.com/search?q=youtube+transistors&rlz=1C9BKJA_enCA832CA832&oq=youtube+transistors&aqs=chrome..69i57j0l3.11017j0j7&hl=en-US&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8

I understand how transistors work (to some extent) I just don't get what different types do differently.
Thanks.

BJTs vary mostly in frequency, power capabilities, and by type (NPN/PNP) characteristics.

For low power applications on the Arduino, the common 2N2222 will suffice.

FYI

So they all do the same thing?

The differences which transistors? Can you be more specific? Are you talking generally or specifically? I don’t understand the question.

All BJTs operate on the same basis.

They are current controlled devices.

In its simplicity, a small base current controls collector current.

BJTs have a gain factor, example 2N2222 has a HFE (gain) of ~100.

A base current of 1mA can result in a collector current of 100mA.

Urge you to view the YouTube videos.

Thank you larryd. I have one more question I tried looking it up and I'm pretty sure most videos had the answer but I couldn't follow, I see everywhere that the two main functions are switching and amplifying, but I don't really get when it does what. How do you switch without amplifying? Does it depend on the base current?

It has to do with biasing. To used a transistor you have to set the dc bias to get it to do what you want. Research common emitter. It’s the most common form.

OK. I think I got it.