How do you combine sensor data with custom protocol und send it with Serial?

Hey guys,

I am very new to Arduino.

Now I am trying to send the sensor data to Computer.

The sensor data will be stored as bytes into arrays. To build a robust transmission I'll pack the data with own defined protocol. e.g. has Header, length, Checksum ...

My question is, how to combine the sensor data with protocol frames and send it with serial.

Now I have written something like below, it works, but very simple and dirty :slight_smile: . So I'd like to know how you handle my case?

#define SOF_1 0x55
#define SOF_2 0xAA

uint8_t SensorDataByteArrA[4] = {0xc1, 0xc2, 0xc3, 0xC4};
uint8_t SensorDataByteArrB[4] = {0xe1, 0xe2, 0xe3, 0xe4};

void send_sensor_data()
{
  Serial.write(SOF_1);
  Serial.write(SOF_2);

Serial.write(SensorDataByteArrA, 4);
  Serial.write(SensorDataByteArrB, 4);

}

have a look at Arduino serial basics
what is receiving the serial information? e.g. a human reader or a program
a humer reader will require readable text, a program can receive raw binary (your example looks like binary data transmission)

to send binary you could use a frame along the lines of (with DLEs being byte stuffed)
SYN DLE STX byte stuffed data CRC DLE ETX

horace:
have a look at Arduino serial basics
what is receiving the serial information? e.g. a human reader or a program
a humer reader will require readable text, a program can receive raw binary (your example looks like binary data transmission)

to send binary you could use a frame along the lines of (with DLEs being byte stuffed)
SYN DLE STX byte stuffed data CRC DLE ETX

Hi, other program will receive the message and parse it into readable text. Using Frame is exactly what I want. But I would to learn some "elegant" ways to put all the bytes fragments into a complete Frame. Using Serial.write() in a send-function again and again is really too dirty