How does Serial keep data in correct order.

I am learning robots. I have a tank robot with two servos connected to a Uno/motor controller/BT module. I am controlling the robot with a joystick connected to a Uno equipped with a BT module.

I have some experience in C programming, but for the most part, I use example sets of code and adapt to my needs.

My code works for the application, so no problem there, but, I do not understand how the code keeps the sequence of my data in order. There does not seem to be any explicit start or stop byte or function.

In other words, how does the following code keep my X-axis and Y-axis data properly synced since the startup and initialization of the two MCUs is random with respect to one another, i.e., the joystick could be in the middle of an X/Y data transmission when the robot starts receiving.

My code for the joystick side:

int xAxis, yAxis;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);                     // Communication rate of the Bluetooth module
}
void loop() {
  xAxis = analogRead(A0);                   // Read Joysticks X-axis
  yAxis = analogRead(A1);                   // Read Joysticks Y-axis

// Send the values via the serial port to the slave HC-05 Bluetooth device
  Serial.write(xAxis/4);                    // Dividing by 4 for converting from 0 - 1023 to 0 - 256, (1 byte) range
  Serial.write(yAxis/4);

delay(20);
}

My code for the robot side:

int joystickX, joystickY;                                           // create joystick variables

void setup() {                                                      // the setup function runs once
  Serial.begin(115200);                                             // initiate serial communication speed
}

void loop() {                                                       // the main loop
  if (Serial.available()) {                                         // check for a bluetooth connection