How does this even compile? Dynamic arrays? Huh?

I’m trying to understand some code that appears to work but I can’t even figure out how it compiles. I’ve been programming in C++ and C for many years and I’ve never seen this.

From the ESP8266 Example sketch WifiTelnetToSerial which does appear to actually work / run, lines 75 to about 85:

//check UART for data
  if(Serial.available()){
    size_t len = Serial.available();
    uint8_t sbuf[len];
    Serial.readBytes(sbuf, len);
    //push UART data to all connected telnet clients
    for(i = 0; i < MAX_SRV_CLIENTS; i++){
      if (serverClients[i] && serverClients[i].connected()){
        serverClients[i].write(sbuf, len);
        delay(1);
      }
    }
  }

How does one define ‘sbuf’ as an array of ‘len’ bytes when ‘len’ is a dynamic quantity returned by Serial.available(), and not a constant known at compile time? Does Arduino or recent C++ standards implement some sort of dynamic stack variables I’ve never heard of?

https://www.google.com/search?q=gcc+variable+array+size

It works because sbuf is a local / auto (located on the stack). It's not much different than space allocated with alloca.

As far as I can remember C++ has always worked like this and it offered a lot of flexible memory management options.

"Because the number #1 factor that separates C++ programmers from hackers is memory management" Dr. Bruce Draper, CSU

if(Serial.available()){  
       size_t len = Serial.available();   //find out how many bytes are available in the Serial  buffer
       uint8_t sbuf[len];                 //allocate that many bytes in memory as variable sbuf
       Serial.readBytes(sbuf, len);       //move len bytes from serial buffer to sbuf
    }                                     //deallocate sbuf from memory