How far from the processor can I run my LEDs?(SOLVED)

I bought a bunch of 12V WS2811 Strings for Christmas decorating, and I have a few questions.
I should add that I am just learning to use fastLed.h and RGB LED strings.

I am using a 15A PS, so a few 50-LED strings should be no problem. The sample sketches all run fine on the Wemos D1 Mini using a single 50-LED string. For these tests I am running the firstlight.ino sample sketch.

So, some questions:

1. From various tutorials and forum postings, I have seen a resistor in series with the data line with values ranging from 220-Ohm to 22K. Is there a spec or is it just a guess?

2. How long can the data line be from the Wemos to the LEDs? I have a one-meter line from the Wemos to a single string, and I can run the sample sketches just fine. But when I change it to a 15-foot LED cable, (3/18), nothing. Not one LED lights. Any ideas?

I suspect the problem is in my data line because the voltage at the end of the two 50-LED strings is still 11.28-Volts. (It’s 11.99-Volts at the start of the string).

So, what am I doing wrong? How do you run 100 or 200 LED strips from a single processor?
SOLVED)

FirstLight.ino (3.33 KB)

You don't the processor simply does not have enough power. If you want long lines consider using RS485 as the method of sending date, simply on off, or PWM. Per channel simply configure one to be transmit only the other to receive only. This will give you the ability to run the lines several thousand feet. The Wemos simply goes goes to the transmit pin the leds go to the receive. Plan on running a ground with the RS485 signals and connect them at each end, be sure the 120 ohm terminators are connected. They are on the cheap boards from ebay. With the appropriate led drivers and power supply at the leds it is almost unlimited to the number you can drive.
Good Luck & Have Fun!
Gil

You mean like this?

RS485.jpg