How hard would this be for a starter?

Hello everybody,
I want to build some sort of hardware that tracks movements, and keeps a log of the movements variations over time, so I can build a chart or stuff.
I’m a complete newbie when it comes to hardware, but I read an article about arduino some time ago and I thought it would be a good start.
I will probably have to attach an accelerometer to the board, and quantify the accelerometers output (I dont need to know direction, just amount of movement).
So, how hard would this be for a starter? Am I in the right path? I have no knowledge at all with hardware or electronics.

Thanks for your time.

Can you give a few more details. Are you tracking inches or miles? Can you connect a sensor to a wheel or an encoder to get data on movement? Or is it a GPS application?

I want to track sleep movements for research. So the piece of hardware would stay somewhere in the bed, and keep tracking and logging the body movements. Thats why I dont need direction of movement. All I need is to know is if there is movement, and how much movement (subject in deep sleep or rolling in bed, etc).

why are you considering arduino for it?
i’d rather use a webcam? ( This dependends on what you want to do )

As I said, I have no knowledge in hardware at all.. I just thought I would have to use an accelerometer to get the movements, and I would have to attach it to something to process the information, and then arduino came to my mind. I'm not really sure why I choose arduino, I just read something about it here and there, and it just seems fit. I'm not sure if a webcam would be of use, if the movement is too small it would not be caught, and I would also have to concern about enviroment light, etc. My idea is to have arduino plus the accelerometer sitting in bed as the subject sleeps, and then connect it to a pc to collect the data. Is there something wrong? Is this not how arduino is supposed to work?