How in the Arduino IDE do I get the .hex file out

How in the Arduino IDE do I get the .hex file out (gives me bytes of flash used - including EEPROM) and the device flash/eeprom usage data?

Hello folks ... I am new to Arduino / Atmel microcontrollers. Newbie ... but with experience

I am especially new to Arduino IDE ... like just this morning a few hours ago. I was able to compile GRBL (0.9i) this morning and flash it to a MEGA2560 Arduino board (orignal - not a clone or rip) and it seems to work. I put GRBL Controller on Raspberry PI 2 and have it up and running - no further tests such as attaching it to my Stepper driver boards as of yet - but should later this day. I have been studying solutions to a CNC router controller system (JGRO) for about 6 months and have most of the hardware needed and have started construction on the router frame itself - be a little while on that.

I began a few days ago with the Atmel Studio IDE and quickly became lost in how to 'put the GRBL source files into it to edit/compile' and will continue working on that. However, I came across a Github instruction on how to compile and upload GRBL to my newly acquired MEGA2560 board using the Arduino IDE (latest is 1.6.1 I believe - downloaded this morning) and used that successfully to program GRBL (modified to Atmel 2560 pin interfacing) to interface with my Raspberry Pi 2 GRBLController (SUCCESS!! ... thusfar).

My question is concerning the Arduino IDE. It appears that I cannot open a .c or .h file within the environment to edit (leaving me with a HEAVY with regards to computer resources Atmel Studio IDE in order to do so with basic error checking to assure I didn't create a syntax error). Also, there appears to be no way of 'saving' the .hex file used by the Arduino IDE nor to see the ATMEL device flash memory usage and available. I am used to Microchip IDE which does not have an issue doing this; but, the Arduino IDE does.